Oversight Committee Details


The Citizens’ Bond Oversight Committee consists of a minimum of 7 members appointed for a two-year term by the Board of Trustees based on criteria established by Prop 39, with at least:

  • one representative of the local business community;
  • one person active in a senior citizens’ organization;
  • one person active in a bona fide taxpayers’ organization;
  • one student who is both currently enrolled in the District and active in an organization, such as student government, who may, at the discretion of the Board, serve for up to six months following graduation;
  • one person active in the support and organization of the District, such as a member of one of its advisory councils or the District Foundation;
  • additional appointees as selected by the Board of Trustees to represent the communities of Santa Monica and Malibu.

Current Members:
Sylvia Rose, Chair
Bruce Sultan, Vice-Chair
Ben Allen
Deborah Arveson
Clarence Chapman
Ralph Erickson
Ilda Jimenez y West
Paul Leoni
Christine Thornton

To become a member, review the Seeking Applicant section of the Citizen’s Bond Oversight Committee website for the latest announcement and application.